Discrimination In Employment Relevant Federal Laws

Discrimination in​ Employment — Relevant Federal Laws
Discrimination in​ employment is​ prohibited by a​ series of​ federal laws .​
These laws are the​ following:
* Title VII of​ the​ Civil Rights Act of​ 1964,​ as​ amended (commonly referred to​ as​ Title VII);
* Title I​ of​ the​ Americans with Disabilities Act of​ 1990 (ADA);
* the​ Age Discrimination in​ Employment Act of​ 1967,​ as​ amended (ADEA);
* the​ Equal Pay Act of​ 1963 (EPA);
* the​ Civil Rights Act of​ 1991 (often referred to​ as​ CRA of​ 1991); and
* Section 501 of​ the​ Rehabilitation Act of​ 1973,​ as​ amended.
Title VII prohibits employers from discriminating on​ the​ basis of​ race,​ color,​ religion,​ sex,​ or​ national origin .​
The ADA prohibits employers from discriminating in​ employment on​ the​ basis of​ disability,​ in​ the​ public sector and in​ the​ private sector,​ but excludes the​ federal government.
The ADEA prohibits employers from discriminating against persons 40 years of​ age and older.
The EPA prohibits employers from discriminating on​ the​ basis of​ gender in​ how they pay for substantially similar work under similar conditions.
The CRA of​ 1991 provides for monetary damages (including punitive damages) in​ cases of​ intentional (willful) discrimination and clarifies provisions about disparate impact actions.
The Rehabilitation Act,​ Section 501,​ prohibits discrimination in​ employment against federal employees with disabilities.
The U.S .​
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) enforces the​ main federal statutes prohibiting discrimination in​ employment .​
the​ headquarters of​ the​ EEOC are located in​ Washington,​ D.C.,​ and there are regional offices and local field offices throughout the​ country .​
Check telephone information under Federal Government listings for a​ contact phone number,​ if​ you think you may have been subjected to​ employment discrimination.

You Might Also Like:

Powered by Blogger.