What Makes Ashtanga Yoga Different

What Makes Ashtanga Yoga Different

Ashtanga Yoga is​ the​ type of​ yoga which was created and established by a​ master named K. Pattabhi Jois. Due to​ it's theory containing eight different limbs,​ or​ components,​ it​ is​ also known as​ "Eight-Limb Yoga". it​ doesn't imply that the​ practitioner has a​ double set of​ limbs,​ but master Pattabhi Jois showed that the​ optimum path of​ purification is​ made up of​ the​ eight spiritual practices.

The basic idea is​ that these limbs only can be kept in​ balance by the​ appropriate application of​ the​ Ashtanga Yoga method.

The first four limbs that symbolize Ashtanga Yoga,​ and are considered externally correctable are (original names within double quotes):
- Moral codes or​ "yama"
- Self-purification or​ "niyama"
- Posture or​ "asana"
- Breath control or​ "pranayama"

Then there is​ the​ other set of​ limbs which are the​ internal practices:
- Sense control or​ "pratyahara"
- Meditation or​ "dhyana"
- Concentration or​ "dharana"
- Contemplation or​ "samadhi"

K. Pattabhi Jois declared that practicing these Eight Limbs as​ well as​ its sub-limbs of​ the​ external practices which contain the​ niyama and yama is​ impossible. in​ doing so,​ the​ body should be strong so that it​ can technically perform the​ methods well enough. if​ the​ body is​ weak,​ and the​ sense organs are not functioning well,​ practicing will never be productive at​ all.

This is​ a​ primary philosophy that K. Pattabhi Jois has applied,​ it​ is​ of​ prime importance for the​ Asthanga practitioner to​ learn and understand this way of​ thinking. This will make you confident in​ that the​ body will significantly improve and become stronger and healthier.

Vinsaya and Tristhana are performed in​ Ashtanga Yoga.

The Vinsaya is​ a​ style that makes Ashtanga and its fundamental principles different from the​ others. Vinsaya basically means the​ movement and breathing which is​ used effectively together in​ order to​ cleanse the​ body. Each movement done is​ accompanied by only one breath. Sweat is​ the​ most important product of​ Vinsaya. When you produce sweat,​ it​ only indicates that you are successfully applying the​ method. When you perform the​ Asanas,​ or​ postures,​ the​ body produces heat which causes your blood to​ "boil" and excrete the​ toxins outside of​ your body. the​ contaminations are found in​ your sweat. So the​ more sweat you produce,​ the​ more toxins are released. This is​ the​ natural way for the​ body to​ get rid of​ unwanted substances.

The poses are used to​ fully develop the​ physical strength and health of​ the​ body. it​ is​ the​ sequence of​ practices that make this possible. There are three postures used in​ Ashtaga Yoga.

The three are grouped on​ different levels:

- the​ first is​ the​ Primary Series which aims on​ aligning the​ body and also detoxifying it.

- the​ second is​ the​ Intermediate Series opening and cleansing the​ energy channels which comes to​ the​ process of​ purifying the​ Nervous System.

- the​ last series would be the​ Advanced Series from a​ to​ D. in​ this set,​ the​ grace and strength are assessed.

The Tristhana is​ another yoga principle which symbolizes the​ close union of​ the​ three places of​ action and attention. First is​ the​ posture,​ second is​ the​ breathing technique ad last is​ the​ Dristhi of​ the​ Looking Place. All these three should work altogether to​ perform a​ function.

The breathing is​ always controlled and synchronized with the​ movements,​ in​ such a​ way that each movement is​ accompanied by breath. Ujjayi Breathing is​ the​ Yoga Breathing Technique used in​ the​ implementation of​ Ashtanga Yoga. Applying this ancient technique is​ something that you should work on​ gradually in​ your daily practise. What you need to​ master is​ holding your pose longer at​ the​ same time hold your breath. This is​ an​ amazing breathing exercise that will intensify your internal fire and will toughen the​ Nervous System.

Both Ashtanga and Tristhana deal with the​ series of​ Dristhi. the​ Dristhi is​ defined as​ the​ point on​ which you acquire your focus or​ concentration while doing the​ Asana. This allows your mind to​ be purified and stabilized clearly.

Clearing your mind (that is​ sometimes compared to​ an​ over active monkey) and cleansing it​ is​ the​ ultimate goal in​ the​ Eight-Limb Yoga or​ Ashtanga Yoga.

What Makes Ashtanga Yoga Different

Related Posts:

Powered by Blogger.