Meditation On First Philosophy

A Quick Review on​ Meditations on​ First Philosophy

Rene Descartes is​ ​ the​ author of ​ the​ book Meditations on​ First Philosophy: in​ ​ Which the​ Existence of ​ God and the​ Real Distinction of ​ Mind and Body are Demonstrated.

There are six meditations which were discussed in​ ​ the​ book.

First Meditation

Your senses can deceive you. This is​ ​ the​ main point in​ ​ the​ first meditation wherein it ​ figures out how information with the​ use of ​ senses can sometimes mislead you​ to​ ​ achieving facts.

During this stage of ​ meditation,​ the​ author taught to​ ​ himself that he is​ ​ irate,​ dreaming,​ or even tricked by a​ ​ demon. Hence,​ he contemplated in​ ​ order to​ ​ fight such way of ​ thinking.

Second Meditation

The focus of ​ the​ second meditation is​ ​ representation. Theoretically,​ it ​ is​ ​ termed as​ representationalism. There were five steps incorporated in​ ​ the​ said theory wherein it ​ conveys detachment of ​ the​ world from one's mind.

The said theory led to​ ​ the​ idea that the​ awareness of ​ a​ ​ human being to​ ​ his environment implies his own existence.

Third Meditation

On the​ third meditation,​ the​ author's focal point involves the​ three basic types of ​ ideas (1) Volition or Desire; (2) Feelings or Affections; and (3) Judgment.

Volition is​ ​ defined as​ the​ ability for you​ to​ ​ choose and decide mindfully. on​ the​ other hand,​ feeling is​ ​ described as​ occurrence of ​ sentimental and emotional state. Alternatively,​ judgment is​ ​ a​ ​ condition where an individual forms an opinion after contemplation.

Fourth Meditation

Knowing the​ truth and fallacy is​ ​ the​ quest which the​ author undertook on​ the​ fourth meditation. He also cited that the​ common sources of ​ fault are will and understanding.

Understanding takes the​ definition of ​ a​ ​ state wherein an individual comprehends thoughts and actions around him. Descartes in​ ​ his book explained that such attribute is​ ​ sometimes presented by God in​ ​ partial.

Will,​ on​ the​ other hand,​ is​ ​ a​ ​ mental gift wherein an individual choose or decide towards an action or event. if ​ understanding sometimes come partially as​ stated by the​ author,​ will can be presented wholly or none at all by the​ Supreme Being.

Fifth Meditation

The notion of ​ material objects concerns the​ author on​ the​ fifth meditation. He also stated three arguments under this category such as:

1. God is​ ​ the​ definition of ​ a​ ​ great perfect human being.
2. Faultlessness is​ ​ an essential part of ​ subsistence.
3. God exists.

Sixth Meditation

In the​ external environment of ​ one's self and God,​ there is​ ​ a​ ​ possibility that materials exists. it ​ is​ ​ like saying that such elements are present and real for the​ reason that God is​ ​ capable of ​ creating them.

During the​ last meditation,​ the​ author arrives at three realities. First,​ there is​ ​ a​ ​ God who is​ ​ infinite. Secondly,​ there is​ ​ a​ ​ soul. Thirdly,​ there are material elements or things. the​ second and the​ third are obtainable,​ however with limits or restrictions.
The author also identifies some irregularities in​ ​ his meditation. He is​ ​ still perplexed with why there is​ ​ a​ ​ sense in​ ​ limbs which are surgically removed,​ or why there are senses in​ ​ dreams and dropsy.

To fully understand the​ writings of ​ Descartes on​ the​ said book,​ it ​ is​ ​ recommended that you​ completely read Meditations on​ First Philosophy.
Meditation On First Philosophy Meditation On First Philosophy Reviewed by Henda Yesti on April 25, 2018 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.