Forensic Nursing Certifications

Forensic Nursing Certifications Can Qualify Registered Nurses
Registered nurses who have been practicing health care for years now have the option to shift their careers if ​ they want to. ​
New graduates of​ the nursing course can check if ​ they can divert from clinical nursing to a​ seemingly more challenging career in forensics. ​
Nursing practitioners or​ even physicians, can obtain forensic nursing certifications if ​ they want to shift their careers or​ they just want to upgrade their skills.
The primary role of​ hospital nurses is in care giving. ​
a​ forensic nurse can be a​ clinical nurse, who has great observation skills, can recognize and ​ identify evidences, collect them and ​ document them properly for use in convicting perpetrators of​ crime. ​
This clinical nurse must of​ course, go through training and ​ certification first before she can begin practicing professionally.
A professional certification is a​ document that recognizes an individual’s experience and ​ knowledge in a​ certain field, profession or​ specialty. ​
There are a​ lot of​ acronyms that refer to courses related to forensic nursing. ​
There may be differences in the way they’re called but the curriculum is similar in all types. ​
These training programs are
* Sexual Assault Forensic Examiner SAFE
* Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner SANE
* Forensic Nurse Examiner FNE
* Sexual Assault Nurse Clinician SANC
* Sexual Assault Examiner SAE
All these training programs include curricula, which give focus on
Perpetrator Theory
Forensic Mental/Psychiatric Health
Interpersonal Violence same sex or​ otherwise
Criminal Justice
Thos who undergo any of​ the training programs have classroom hours and ​ handson hours that are supervised by trained forensic doctors and ​ nurses. ​
The following are the most recognized methods on how one can acquire forensic nurse education or​ training
1. ​
Via certification programs provided by universities that offer forensic nursing aside from traditionally structured courses that lead to a​ nursing degree
2. ​
Via continuing education programs that professional nurses undergo for renewal of​ their licenses.
3. ​
Via undergraduate or​ graduate nursing courses or​ elective subjects on forensic nursing that are often offered as​ part of​ a​ certification program
4. ​
Via Masters of​ Science with a​ degree in Nursing, which also offers special subjects on collecting evidence, forensic law and ​ science, etc. ​
These programs also offer internship in forensic crime laboratories, medical examiners’ offices, shelters for crime victims, and ​ the forensic psychiatry units of​ hospitals,
The International Association of​ Forensic Nurses IAFN, which was formed in the early 1990s as​ a​ result of​ a​ convention attended by 70 sexual assault nurses, has developed a​ certification program for all sexual assault nurse examiners. ​
SANEA Certification is a​ professional certification for sexual assault nurse examiners of​ adults and ​ adolescents. ​
SANEP is intended for examiners of​ pediatric and ​ adolescent patients.
The SANE is considered the steppingstone to forensic nursing. ​
The IAFN requires the trainees to be registered nurses. ​
They are subject to 40 instructional hours and ​ another 40 hours for onthejob duties. ​
During the training, the nurses’ skills are honed in collecting various evidences like hair strands, fibers, and ​ fluids for DNA testing.
Although forensic nurses are more into sexual assault cases, they are still helpful in other cases like domestic violence and ​ various types of​ abuse verbal, physical, emotional, psychological.
Many forensic nurses can be seen in emergency rooms of​ hospitals so they can be on the lookout for shooting or​ stabbing cases. ​
They gather the bullets and ​ other possible evidences in the form of​ debris or​ fluid that can shed some light in the cause of​ the crime. ​
Only a​ nurse that has undergone forensic nursing certifications can properly handle all these tasks.

You Might Also Like:

Powered by Blogger.